Events• Awards• Publications• Contests

Don’t want to miss an issue of Light or a funny Poem of the Week? Interested in occasional light-verse-related news?
Follow us on Twitter (@LightPoetryMag) and Facebook (Light Poetry Magazine), and message Light‘s editors at, and ask to be added to our e-mail list.


Women in Light Verse panel, May 24, 2017: featuring A.M. Juster, Susan McLean, Marilyn L. Taylor, and Gail White, and chaired by Light Editor Melissa Balmain. Part of the Poetry by the Sea Conference in coastal CT, May 23-26, 2017

Three-day light verse and parody workshop, co-taught by Light Editor Melissa Balmain and poet Frank Osen, as part of the West Chester University Poetry Conference in West Chester, PA, June 7-10, 2017.

recently received by 
Light contributors:

Catherine Chandler: the 2016 Richard Wilbur Book Award, for her collection The Frangible Hour (University of Evansville Press, 2016)
Robert W. Crawford: first Poet Laureateship of Derry, N.H.
Midge Goldberg: the 2016 Howard Nemerov Sonnet Award, for her sonnet “Tennis Practice Against the Garage Door.”
Robert Schechter: 2016 X.J. Kennedy Parody Award, for “Archaic Torso of Barbie.”
Ryan Wilson: the 2017 Donald Justice Poetry Prize, for his collection The Stranger World. Ryan will read from his book at the West Chester University Poetry Conference, June 7-10, 2017.

Light’s nominees and finalists for the 2017 Pushcart Prize, chosen
by our editors:

A.M. Juster: “Ballade of Bad Sandwiches”
Mae Scanlan: “Invitation”
Christopher Scribner: “On Using Pruners to Cut a Rug”
J.D. Smith: “Song of Labor”
A.E. Stallings: “Rubaiyat of the Volunteer”
Marilyn L. Taylor: “Spring, and Especially Fall”

Brian Allgar: “Heaven or Hell?”
C.B. Anderson: “Lactose Intolerance”
Janice Canerdy: “Instructions for Summer”
Daniel W. Galef: “Said Eve (Refrain)”
Rob Jackson: “Acnestis”
Chris O’Carroll: “Ode to Old Age”
Orel Protopopescu: “Multiverses”
Reagan Upshaw: “The Skeleton Key”

by Light poets and editors

Bruce Bennett: Just Another Day in Our Town: Poems New and Selected 2000-2016 (Orchises Press, 2017), and The Donald Trump of the Republic (FootHills Publishing, 2016).
Midge GoldbergSnowman’s Code (University of Evansville Press, 2016). (Reviewed here.)
Allison JosephMercurial (Mayapple Press, 2016) and Mortal Rewards (White Violet Press, 2016).
A.M. JusterSleaze & Slander (Measure Press Inc., 2016) and The Billy Collins Experience (Aldrich Press, 2016). (Both reviewed here.)
J. Patrick Lewis: Porch Light (Laughing Fire Press, 2016).
Alfred NicolAnimal Psalms (Able Muse Press, 2016).  (Reviewed here.)
James B. Nicola: Stage to Page: Poems from the Theater (Word Poetry, 2016). (Reviewed here.) 
Alexandra OliverLet the Empire Down (Biblioasis, 2016). (Reviewed here.)
John Ridland: Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: A New Verse Translation in Modern English (Able Muse Press, 2016).
Scot SlabyBugs Us All (Entasis Press, 2016). (Reviewed here.)
J.D. SmithThe Killing Tree (Finishing Line Press, 2016). (Reviewed here.)
Cody Walker: The Self-Styled No-Child (Waywiser Press, 2016).
Gail WhiteCatechism (White Violet Press, 2016). (Reviewed here.)
John Whitworth: Joy in the Morning (Kelsay Books, 2016).

Susan McLean, Allison JosephJulie Kane, and Melissa Balmain are among the contributors to Bared: Contemporary Poetry and Art on Bras and Breasts (Les Femmes Folles Books, 2016)

Michael Cantor, Catherine ChandlerClaudia Gary, Chris O’Carroll, Wendy SloanJanice D. Soderling, and Melissa Balmain have poems in The Great American Wise Ass Poetry Anthology (Literary Press, Lamar University, 2016). (Reviewed here.)


The staff of Light is unable to vet contests …
but we’re happy to pass the info along.

Frost Farm Prize for metrical poetry Deadline: March 30, 2017

For undergraduate poets: The Iris N. Spencer Poetry Award, Myong Cha Son Haiku Award and Rhina P. Espaillat Award. Deadlines for all three are March 15, 2017.

Wergle Flomp Humor Poetry Contest Deadline: April 1, 2017